Progress MS-16 freighter launched on two-day trek to space station – SpaceFlight Insider

Progress MS-16 is launched atop a Soyuz 2.1a rocket from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Credit: Roscosmos

Progress MS-16 is launched atop a Soyuz 2.1a rocket from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Credit score: Roscosmos

The subsequent Russian cargo ship certain for the Worldwide House Station, Progress MS-16, has launched from Kazakhstan with gas and provides.

Liftoff passed off at 11:45 p.m. EST Feb. 14 (04:45 UTC Feb. 15) atop a Soyuz 2.1a rocket from Website 31 at Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Lower than 10 minutes later, the autonomous Progress MS-16 was positioned in orbit to start its two-day trek to the ISS.

The launch got here lower than every week after one other cargo ship, Progress MS-15, departed the outpost.

Progress MS-16 is carrying some 2,500 kilograms price of cargo, propellant, air and water for the seven-person Expedition 64 crew at the moment aboard the ISS. It’s set to mate with the Pirs docking compartment at about 1:20 a.m. EST (06:20 UTC) Feb. 17 the place it’s anticipated to stay till July 2021.

Ought to the schedule maintain, this cargo spacecraft is about to remove and de-orbit the Pirs docking compartment to clear the way in which for the Russian Nauka science module, which is slated to launch in July atop a Proton rocket.

Pirs’ departure would make it the primary main ISS module to be retired, having been hooked up to the area station since September 2001.

Tagged:

Derek Richardson has a level in mass media, with an emphasis in modern journalism, from Washburn College in Topeka, Kansas. Whereas at Washburn, he was the managing editor of the coed run newspaper, the Washburn Evaluation. He additionally has a weblog concerning the Worldwide House Station, known as Orbital Velocity.

Source

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to Blog via Email