New appointments to the Observatory and Planetarium Management Committee – Astronotes

Armagh Observatory and Planetarium has made 5 new appointments to its Administration Committee.

Three of the appointments of Mr Paul Kennedy, Dr Kirstin Lemon, and Mr Eugene Rooney, have been made by Communities Minister, Deirdre Hargey MLA and are efficient from 1 till 28 February 2026.  Different new appointees are Dr Caitriona Jackman and Dr Matt Darnley, to characterize the Dublin Institute of Research and the Science and Expertise Services respectively.  These appointments are efficient from 1 January to 31 December 2025.

Constructed in 1790, Armagh Observatory stays the oldest scientific establishment in Northern Eire and continues to operate as an astronomical analysis centre, conducting internationally recognised frontline scientific analysis.

The Planetarium is the longest operating planetarium within the British Isles having opened in 1968. As properly asbeing a serious customer attraction and a key driver for the native economic system, it gives in depth academic programmes, a lot of which have been delivered on-line throughout lockdown.  It’s at the moment closed to the general because of Covid-19 and has undergone a serious refurbishment in the course of the closure.

The brand new administration committee members carry with them in depth expertise from a variety of various backgrounds.

Paul Kennedy is a Civil Servant within the Division of Infrastructure, via which he has gained expertise regarding advanced monetary transactions and sponsorship tasks for Arm’s-Size Our bodies whereas Kirstin Lemon is a senior geoscientist and member of the Senior Management Group on the Geological Survey of Northern Eire.  On this function, she has expertise of selling governance, strategic planning and establishing objectives and targets.

Eugene Rooney is a former Senior Civil Servant who has held a wide range of senior positions in various Authorities Departments.  He has in depth expertise of governance and monetary and efficiency administration.  Matt Darnley is a Reader in Time Area Astrophysics and Head of Educating on the Astrophysics Analysis Institute of Liverpool John Moores College.

Caitriona Jackman is an Honorary Professor on the Dublin Institute of Superior Research (DIAS) the place she holds a Science Basis Eire President of Eire Future Analysis Leaders award and heads a gaggle researching Magnetospheres.

Distant assembly

Chair of Armagh Observatory and Planetarium Administration Committee, John Briggs stated he was delighted to welcome the identify committee members.

“The calibre of our new administration committee members is extraordinarily excessive, and we’re excited concerning the contribution our new colleagues will carry to Armagh Observatory and Planetarium.  These positions are unpaid and requite a time dedication of 12 days per yr.”

Read More


Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave a Reply